too many aborts

Started by elephant, September 27, 2009, 12:38:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

elephant

Hello all,
   my cakes are producing numerous "buds" or baby mushrooms (primordia), but a high percentage of these fail to become full sized, mature mushrooms. They either stall out, die, or they become mature miniatures that open when they are about an inch high. I have tried soaking the cakes for about 4 hrs every week (I live in a dry climate) but this doesn't seem to help.
Any suggestions?
thanks.     

room408

have you been lowering your humidity to the mid 90% once you have your pins?    the pins require 100% and the fruits a little less. i am not an expert but this is my first guess others may know or have better info than me

malabar

Elephant,
  I hate to put you off, but in order to properly diagnose your problem, more info is needed.
  What are your growing conditions?  And what substrate?
If you have been working within all of the "basic" guidelines, and proven parameters, it's likely the source is the Gene pool .
  Bad source material, ( Genes ) will consistently produce large numbers of dwarfs, retards and aborts.
  ~Malabar   :mellow:
My Kung Fu may suck,.....  But, my Shrooms Kick Ass!

elephant

OK- I guess I'm reaching the limits of my ignorance already. This is my first time through the process. Probably I need to go back and do some more study on "basic" guidelines and such. In the meantime, I will try to reply:

room408 - yes, I have already otherwise established that I was over-watering/ misting. So, I'm trying to correct that. However, I didn't know you could control the humidity within such fine tolerances. How do you drop the humidity by 5% in a controlled way?