BRF Mycelium Cakes: turning blue = Contams?

Started by DiegoSeesMush, March 27, 2010, 10:00:45 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

DiegoSeesMush

This is my first time cultivating. I birthed the jars 4 days ago.
Keep them around 90 - 100% humidity in a shotgun terrarium
with good air flow and indirect sunlight. Only issue is the temp
has consistently been at 69 - 70 degrees. Today started noticing
a little blue hue on some of my cakes. i touched it with a paper towel
to see if it would come off (meaning its mold) and nothing showed up on
the paper. is this something to worry about?

k12357

sounds like bruising.  no way to be sure without pictures. 
"We're sorta like 7-Eleven. We're not always doing business, but we're always open."

dub504

Did you dunk and roll. The cakes may be thirsty.

Baphom3t

If nothing came off with the paper towel then you are seeing bruising.
Your cakes are safe.
The temps you stated are not a issue.
Instead of using paper towel use a Q-tip , it works better.

DiegoSeesMush

Thanks for the replies so far. Yes, nothing came off when wiped so I was hoping
it was just bruising. No I did not dunk these particular cakes so they could be
parched. I have other cakes that i did dunk and roll that are not fruiting at all
and are becoming very fuzzy on the outside. These cakes were extremely
bruised from the dunking and now have been recovered with fuzzy white...(mycelium>?)
Is white fuzz on cakes normal? and is swabbing the best way to distinguish bruising from possible contaminants? Thanks again  :ph34r: 

This is the blue spot I mentioned

and the white fuzz on cakes that were dunked

dub504

That is just bruising. What is your temp, humidity and are you fanning or getting FAE another way?

moorhS

ya looks like you still have alot of mycelium growing on those cakes.... like dub said make sure you give them plenty of fresh air.... light, and humidity...

Vandal_xx