What's my next mycelium move? Get Out of Jail Tek

Started by PCCP, March 26, 2011, 12:37:28 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

PCCP

Hi everyone, complete noob here.

Have read and re read the PF-Teks and understand fully what I should of done but I had a major error in judgement.

I've inoculated 6 brf jars with 1.3cc of spores each and put them in my incubator that normaly gets to 28C max during the night, unheated through the day. My place is average 15C so extra heat is needed

I put them to bed and thought I would add a layer of tin foil to keep in complete darkness. I then had to leave.

When I got back 5 hours later the air temp was nightmare 35C. I didnt realise the foil would retain so much extra, as 7C deg. I opened and cooled of straight away and only closed for the night when it had dropped to 25C. This morning was down to 18C

I'm not sure how long the heat was at 35C testing the heater I think it was about 2 hours.

Is 2 hours at 35C too much for freshly inoculated jars?

Will they germinate?

If they germinate are they doomed for less than full colonization due to moisture loss in the early over heated hours?

I should wait to see at least  germination and keep the temp low say 20-22C and humid to prevent any more moisture loss?

Sorry for the long post, just wanted to give more experienced people all the facts.

Peace :huh:

PCCP

I think I may have answered my questions here

http://www.shroomery.org/5159/What-is-too-hot-for-incubation-and-what-happens-to-the-jars

My spores are cubensis.

I was half way to thermal death and slowed any germinated growth down to 50%. These are ungerminated jars so may have got away with it but the substrate may have lost too much moisture in that crucial hot 2 hours.

I think I'll wait it out and keep my growth temp close to room temp as I dare to keep any more moisture loss to an absolute min.

:ph34r:

PCCP

No signs of white yet.

I'm using a timer with my incubator. Can't afford the thermostat just yet.