Type of rye seed

Started by jshroomer, June 13, 2008, 01:40:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jshroomer

I am new at this and I am quite skeptical about the type of rye seed that I am using.  I went to a home and garden store and purchased a bag of rye grass seed.  I think I was a little hasty in the process because I don't think that rye grass seed is another name for rye grain.  I also overlooked that on the bag it says "perennial" rye grass seed (I don't know what it means but it gives me a bad feeling). 

In addition, when I was preparing my quart jars I noticed the presence of blue dust on my fingers.  Furthermore, when the water was added, the water took on a blue tint, very similar to the barbicide you see in a barber shop.

This can't be normal.  If someone can please tell me either that I am about to waist 3 syringes, or that I will be okay with what I have, I would much appreciate it.

Baphom3t

Rye Berries are the same as rye grass seed and/or rye grain.
I always buy 50lb bags of Rye Berries at my local livestock feed store. -_-

Perennial means :
1: present at all seasons of the year
2: persisting for several years usually with new herbaceous growth from a perennating part <perennial asters>

"In addition, when I was preparing my quart jars I noticed the presence of blue dust on my fingers.  Furthermore, when the water was added, the water took on a blue tint, very similar to the barbicide you see in a barber shop."

Did you soak the Rye Berries for 24 hrs. and strain them till they ran clear?
If not then there is your problem.
Did you use a PC?
If you sterilized your jars with that discoloration and innoculated them you are kinda fucked.

Baph

anno

Quote from: Baph on June 13, 2008, 07:08:20 PM
Rye Berries are the same as rye grass seed and/or rye grain.

Rye grass seed is NOT the same as rye grain and can not be used for the same purpose.