Fungifun - Forum

Mushroom cultivation => Cultivation => Topic started by: drunkendeath on September 07, 2004, 11:18:03 AM

Title: What is a flowhood used for
Post by: drunkendeath on September 07, 2004, 11:18:03 AM
I was wondering about the flow hood i have been printing up a lot of info about how to do this stuff and i dont know what the flow hood is for. if any one would post here and tell my. thanks
Title: What is a flowhood used for
Post by: anno on September 28, 2004, 04:17:29 AM
A flowhood is used for doing sterile(=contamination free) transfers in mushroom cultivation.
Title: What is a flowhood used for
Post by: vapourboy on September 30, 2004, 08:33:04 AM
Quote
I was wondering about the flow hood i have been printing up a lot of info about how to do this stuff and i dont know what the flow hood is for. if any one would post here and tell my. thanks
[snapback]360[/snapback]

Ultimately, a flow hood is optional but desirable. It maintains a small environment with a reduced contamination presence. A good flow hood is 99.997% efficient, meaning that virtually all airborne contaminants within the area of influence by the flow hood (usually a couple cubic feet) are eliminated while the hood is active.

Check into glove box teks, they are much more economical and about as effective.
Title: What is a flowhood used for
Post by: drunkendeath on September 30, 2004, 12:13:47 PM
should i let the flow hood run for a little while in the room before i work in it at all that way the air is sterile
Title: What is a flowhood used for
Post by: anno on October 08, 2004, 03:23:59 AM
>that way the air is sterile

The air in the room will never be sterile, since you are mixing the clean air coming from the flowhood with the (dirty) air already there, which is not sterile.
Only the area in front of the flowhood in the air stream  is where the air is sterile(well, at least very, very, very clean)
Title: What is a flowhood used for
Post by: samus1977 on June 04, 2005, 10:55:18 AM
;) has any of u guys ever heard about ozone geneartors, if u run that for a couple of minutes it can sterilize a room of all contaminants. also how often do u ventilate the terrarium??

iam very new to this field and  iam trying to design my own terrarium
Title: What is a flowhood used for
Post by: xburn on June 14, 2005, 12:50:50 AM
you should let it run a little to purge the contamintantes currently on the filter from just sitting there 10 to 125 is what i usually do